Imagine Excellence:
The George Wright Society Awards Program

2009 Award Winners Named (posted 8 December 2008)

The 2009 GWS Award winners were named in November. This year, a new award has been added to the roster. Recognizing the increasing importance of the social sciences to park research, management, and education, the GWS Board has created a Social Science Achievement Award. The 2009 winners are described below. They will receive their awards at a joint GWS/NPS Awards Banquet at the historic Governor Hotel in downtown Portland on Thursday evening, March 5, as part of the 2009 conference.

2009 Awardees

Imagine Excellence, the GWS Awards Program, recognizes outstanding accomplishments in fields associated with research in, administration and management of, and communication about parks, other kinds of protected areas, cultural sites, and related supporting activities. The five main awards are given every two years at the GWS conferences. In addition, a Special Achievement Award may be bestowed from time to time by the GWS Board of Directors. The next round of awards will be presented on Thursday, March 5, 2009, at the Awards Banquet during the next George Wright Society Conference on Parks, Protected Areas, and Cultural Sites.  (The banquet will be jointly sponsored by the GWS and the National Park Service, and the NPS Director’s Awards for Natural Resources will be presented there as well.)

The GWS awards themselves are modest, consisting in each case of a plaque, payment of the winner’s expenses to travel to the GWS conference, and a year’s complimentary membership in the Society. However, peer recognition is high and competition for the awards can be keen.

The awards are:

2007 Awardees

You can download a PDF of the conference banquet program containing full citations of these awards, as well as those of the 2006 NPS Director's Awards for Natural Resources and an Honorary Park Ranger Award that went to former Vice President Walter Mondale — all were given at a joint NPS/GWS Awards Banquet at the 2007 conference.

Past Awardees

GWS Cultural Resources Achievement Award (established 1997; prior to 2009, called the GWS Cultural Resources Management Award)
1997: Rowland Bowers
1999: Jerry L. Rogers
2001: Ann Hitchcock
2003: Denzil Verardo
2005: Nora Mitchell
2007: Nelly Margarita Robles Garcia
2009: Edwin Colón

GWS Natural Resources Achievement Award (established 1988; prior to 2009, called the GWS Natural Resources Management Award)
1988: Roland Wauer
1990: Robert Moon
1992: No award given
1995: Robert J. Krumenaker
1997: Russell E. Galipeau, Jr.
1999: R. Gerald Wright
2001: Vincent Santucci
2003: Jerry Mitchell
2005: Linda Drees
2007: Charles van Riper III
2009: Kate Roney Faulkner

GWS Social Science Achievement Award (established 2009)
2009: Robert Manning

GWS Communication Award (established 1999)
1999: Tim Davis
2001: Stephanie Dubois
2003: Jeffrey Cross
2005: David Andrews (on behalf of the staff of Common Ground)
2007: Harry Butowsky
2009: Yvonne Menard

George Melendez Wright Award for Excellence (established 1992)
1992: Jerry F. Franklin
1995: Robert M. Utley, Jean Matthews, William B. Robertson, Jr. (co-winners)
1997: Bruce M. Kilgore
1999: Bryan Harry
2001: Robert M. Linn, Theodore W. Sudia (co-winners)
2002: Boyd Evison
2003: Daniel Lenihan
2005: John Hope Franklin, Jan van Wagtendonk (co-winners)
2007: George B. Hartzog, Jr.
2009: Michael Soukup

Special Achievement Award (occasional; given at discretion of GWS Board)
2001: George J. Minnucci, Jr.
2003: Wesley R. Henry, Jr.
2007: Gary E. Machlis