Reynolds, Thomsen gain seats on Board of Directors

David Reynolds and Jennifer Thomsen are the newest members of the Board of Directors. They bested a third candidate, Charles Fryling, an Associate Professor of Landscape Architecture at Louisiana State University, in balloting that took place in from September through the end of October.  Reynolds is Senior Advisor to the IUCN Global Protected Areas Program, having retired from a career in the National Park Service that included a variety of assignments culminating  in the position of NPS Northeast Regional Chief of Natural Resources and Science. Thomsen is Assistant Professor of Parks, Recreation, and Tourism Management at the University of Montana. She has been involved in GWS conferences and helped organize the first GWS Student Summit this past summer, and is involved in the Biosphere Associates chapter of the Society.

In other governance news, Nathalie Gagnon has been re-elected by the Board to the office of President for 2017.  Likewise, Jerry Mitchell will continue to serve as Vice President and Ryan Sharp as Treasurer. Armando Quintero takes over from retiring Board member David Parsons as Secretary.